The Orbiter. Part 17

The fury on Madam Nights face was evident as she forced her way into Lord Cammeo’s office, an act that was unheard of on the stations, even not knocking after being invited was unheard of, and Madam Night certainly didn’t have an invitation at this point.

“Where is she!” Madam Night was not usually one for raising her voice, much less shouting.

Lord Cammeo looked up from his desk in surprise. “Madam Night?” he questioned almost silently, before quickly composing himself.

“Don’t give me that look.” Madam Night practically snarled at her fellow committee member. “You made threats at the last meeting to her, and then she goes missing, her shuttle destroyed and in pieces out in space.”

Lord Cammeo slowly sorted the papers in front of him, tapping them into a nice neat pile. “Perhaps you would like to clarify, where is who exactly?”

Madam Night gripped the back of one of the seats tightly, leaning forwards over it. “You know who I’m talking about.”

Lord Cammeo shook his head slightly. “I’m afraid not, so why don’t you tell me what you think I’ve done?”

“Lady Mitch never made it back to her station after our last meeting, and considering the threats you made after the last meeting, it doesn’t take much to put those two together.”

Lord Cammeo blinked. “I made no threats, I only made a comment that I hoped any replacements would be more agreeable, any threat you took away from that was simply your own interpretation.”

Madam Night felt her eyes narrow. “You and I both know that isn’t true, you have always tried to maintain an air of authority over the other members of the committee, and for as long as I have been here always trying to undermine everyone else.”

Lord Cammeo quickly assessed her composure and gestured towards the two vacant seats. “Sit.”

Madam Night felt herself assessing him in return, but chose to sit down in one of the seats.

“Now.” Lord Cammeo continued. “How do you know this has happened?”

“When I tried to contact her the this morning I couldn’t make contact, and when I finally spoke to one of her servants he informed me that she had never even made it back from the metting.

“As such I had the AIMS of Nimura do a biometric scan of the space around itself, and it found the remains of Lady Mitch’s shuttle, in pieces, drifting.”

“Lord Cammeo absorbed this. “And what of Lady Mitch herself?”

Madam Night paused. “She wasn’t found.”

Now it was Lord Cammeo’s turn for his eyes to narrow. “And what does that mean exactly? Maybe it wasn’t her shuttle after all?”

“What I think it means, is that she was taken and had her shuttle destroyed to make it look like an accident.”

Lord Cammeo shook his head. “Be that as it may, even if it was the case I had nothing to do with it, while I may be disappointed in her attempts at causing and uprising against me I would never stoop to such levels.”

“Lady Mitch had her reasons.” Madam Night breathed slowly. “But if you had nothing to do with it then who did? Where is she?”

Lord Cammeo leant forwards onto his desk, meshing his fingers together as he rested gently on his elbows. “I must say though Madam Night, I am surprised to hear you voicing so much concern for Lady Mitch, or is that really the reason you came barging in here?”

Madam Night recoiled slightly, blinking hard. “I don’t know what you mean by that.”

Lord Cammeo let a faint but obvious smirk show. “You don’t? Or do you just wish to claim that you don’t?” Madam Night remained silent, so Lord Cammeo continued. “You came in here claiming that I had threatened yourself and Lady Mitch and that I had likely made strong on that threat. You came in here acting like you were furious that I would dare attack another member of the Committee, knowing full well that I know the repercussions of such a thing. But I know why you really came in here, I know why you were really so angry, and that’s because…” He leant further forwards than before, if the desk hadn’t been there they would have been almost touching. “You were afraid that all the work you had put into befriending Lady Mitch would all be for nothing, that there was an easier option after all.” With that he leant back in his seat, making no effort to hide the fact that he was pleased with himself.

Madam Night said nothing, her eyes refusing to meet his, instead they glazed over, focused on the corner of the room.

“I see I have hit a nerve with you there.” Lord Cammeo continued. “But do not fret, I had nothing to do with the incident, and if you indeed scanned the area, as so you claim, and found no signs of her or her pilot, then I might make the suggestion that they were not in the shuttle at the time, either that or they were collected.” He trailed off for a moment. “If however they weren’t on the ship…” he found himself trailing off as the gears began to turn in his head.

Madam Night looked up at his pause, and was surprised by the expression on his face, one that clearly indicated his being deep in thought. She seized the moment to speak. “So you seem to think they are alive. At least I can take that away from here.”

Lord Cammeo raised an eyebrow as he looked back at her. “Our discussion is now over, I have told you that I had nothing to do with the potential disappearance or harm to fellow committee member Lady Mitch, and that is where I will leave it.” With that he pressed one of the buttons on his desk to open the door to his office, and began filing through his papers again.

Madam Night stood slowly, composing herself as she did so, carefully watching to see what Lord Cammeo would do. He spoke without looking up from his papers. “If I am nothing else I am a man of my word.” He spoke slowly. “Our agreement is still in place despite your little outburst, but if she is still alive out there you find out how she survived and what happened. And…” He looked up at her, Madam Night sure she saw something in his eyes. “Do not ever accuse me of something like that again.”

Madam Night said nothing in response but slowly walked out of the room, and as soon as she had, she felt it swing shut behind her.

At his desk, Lord Cammeo removed his finger from the door control switch and keyed his intercom. “Ember.” He spoke into it calmly.

“Yes Lord Cammeo.” Came the immediate and eager response.

“Tell Byrd to get the shuttle ready.” Lord Cammeo ordered as he stared at the closed door. “I need to make an unscheduled stop.”

“Right away Lord Cammeo.” Ember chirped before ending the call.

Lord Cammeo sat still for a few moments, pondering over his next move, a missing committee member could swing either way, as his opposition would be dwindling and this would strengthen his hand moving forwards. But on the other hand if the other members thought he was responsible then he could lose strength, or worse, be evicted by WES and RUI.

He stood, his mind made up, first he was to find out who had been on Lady Mitch’s side, and then work out who he could trust to support him, as he knew he had the support of some, if though nothing other than intimidation and bargaining.

His mind made up about his next course of action, he stood and left the room, and walked the short distance down the corridor to where his Shuttle was parked. His pilot, Byrd, had already positioned himself in the cockpit, and as such, the moment Lord Cammeo had seated himself, the engines lit up, and the Shuttle left its dock and powered off into space, its destination, Station Scorpion.

Here we go, I sure hope this lives up to expectations!

Uninventive

Part 16

Part One 

 

One thought on “The Orbiter. Part 17

  1. Pingback: The Orbiter. Part 16 | Uninventive Ramblings

Leave a Reply

